date field type issue

M

Matt

I'm fairly new to DaDaBik, so whenever I've come up with an issue, I've gone through the forums and have usually found the answer. Failing that, I've gone through the php code and been able to find a solution. After several days of tweaking the interface, there are only two things that I can't figure out (I'll post a seperate topic for the second problem).

The issue I'm trying to work through is this: I have a field set as type "date". This is not a required field. In fact, a good percent of the 3000+ records in the database for which I'm using DaDaBik has no date. My problem is that when using field type "date," when updating a record or inserting a new record, the date field cannot be set or kept blank. It defaults to Jan 1st of the earliest date allowed by config.php. So new records with no date get the date set to jan 1st, and records already in the database that have no date get assigned a date of jan 1st once you use the "edit" feature to update the record in DaDaBik.

Is there any way around this (possibly a blank option above the numbers in the day/month/year drop down boxes)? Any suggestions? Thanks!

-Matt

M

Matt

Nevermind...I figured it out. I edited the function "build_date_select" in general_functions.php to put a blank option before each drop down box. A new day was all I needed to clear the head and find it. I should have given it another day before posting.

Thanks!
-Matt

J

John Rogers

Could you post the code for this mod? It is exactly what I need.

D

Debbie S

John

This mod is easy to implement ...

In general_functions.php, on or about line 129 (function build_date_select ($field_name, $day, $month, $year)), there you would add your blank option line right after the start of the select field:

$day_select .= "<select name=\"".$field_name."_day\"><option value=\"\"></option>";
$month_select .= "<select name=\"".$field_name."_month\"><option value=\"\"></option>";