Newbie:Link Database

B

Brad Robinson

Hi Guys

I'm pretty new to this and i am trying to create and application using a mysql database which i have created the structure for and now need to do some configuration of.

Here's where i need the advice, the way my layout works is that i have multiple tables with one primary key that is in every table in the database called "id".

I need this to auto increment starting from 1 and going upwards and also link all the tables together ao that if i call up the applicant by name all the items he has requested appears too, with this unique id input from the applicant insert page.

Any help would be much appreciated and i know that i could probably learn it from reading manuals but time is of the essence and i've done the majority of the ground work, and the deadline's monday.

Thanks Guys

D

Debbie S

Brad

I don't completely understand what you are trying to achieve. Could you provide a small sample of what one of the linked tables would look like and how you want the final data to appear when viewing in DaDaBIK?

For example:

Linked table:
ID | Value
1 | itemone
2 | itemtwo
3 | itemthree

Main table output:
as above - show how you want the results displayed.

If you can make this available somewhere that I can view, I'd be happy to look at it for you.

Debbie
(Latest version of DaDaBIK when this message was posted: 3.1 Beta)

B

Brad Robinson

I'ts not really that difficult i dont think but it's knowing the syntax and i'm not big on mysql. I'll show you what i am trying to achieve;

Table1 User

|..id..|..name..|..crypt..|.MembNum
...1......Mr A....iu3e93....1015485
...2......Mr B....234923....1023247
...3......Mr C....23kckc....1234103

Table2 Car

|..id..|..Make..|..Model..|..cc|....RegNo...|
....1.....fiat.....panda....1000....a346bhr
....2.....vaux.....astra....1200....mw54wlit
....3....renault...cleo.....1200....b458jut