Sort Order

N

Netric

when displaying the search results (or all records) of a table, how can I sort by alphabetic order instead of the defautl order?

Thanks

K

Kristen

I was playing around with this, trying to get it to work, and I think this does it:

on form.php set the variable order to the field you want it to order by. In my case I did:

$order = "lastname";

I put it right before the switch statement in form.php that starts like:
switch($function){

If you put it at the beginning of the file it doesn't work, so be sure to put it right above the switch statement.

I am not a programmer or anything, so if this doesn't work I'm sorry!

Kristen

D

David Fannin

Here's one way to create a default sort order for show_all searches. I researched this a bit, and found that the default order for MySQL database tables are implementation dependent (i.e. there is no consistent default order). Therefore, I hacked the code a bit by creating a field in "dadabik_table_list" called "default_order" (varchar(50) not null no default value), and used it to specifiy a default sort for a table during show_all searches.

Here are the changes (in verson 2.2.1 beta):

1) add a field to dadabik_table list called "default_order".
varchar(50) not null no default value

2) add the order by clause you want into the "default_order" field

2) add the following to form.php, starting on line 263, replacing the if order test :

if ($order != ""){
$sql .= " order by ".$quote.$order.$quote;
} elseif ( ($default_order=default_table_order($conn,$table_name)) != "" ) {
$sql .= " order by ".$default_order." ";
}
// end if

3)

D

David Fannin